Received other (and better?) CC1101 based hardware

As I already wrote in a previous blog post, I was not too happy with the RF transceiver, as it was kind of hard for me to wire it to a standard breadboard. Now I decided to order another CC1101 based RF transceiver, which has 10 pin headers that can easily wired with a breadboard using male to female breadboard jumper wires. In comparison, also the antenna looks a lot of more robust than the last one, that actually broke after bending it some times.

Product link (if you like to order): http://dx.com/p/rf1100se-transceiver-programming-module-w-antenna-green-156813

Breadboard jumper wires: http://dx.com/p/male-to-female-dupont-breadboard-jumper-wires-for-arduino-40-piece-pack-20cm-length-146935

RF1100SE Transceiver Programming Module w/ Antenna

5 thoughts on “Received other (and better?) CC1101 based hardware

  1. Dear Wolfgang,

    Very nice article. There is little information online about these modules and so nice to read what you did with them. I ordered a few rf1100se modules online and they look similar to the image you posted. I understand they didn’t work for your for your radiator project but I want to use them on two ends of a connection. On one end a raspberry pi and on the other end a nfcreader (adafruit NFC532 breakout module) that has UART and I believe also SPI interface. I got the UART connection working over a regular cable but would like to replace the cable with two of these rf1100se modules. Do you think this is feasable?

    Idealy i would just hook both ends to the modules and have it work. But I don’t think it will be that easy :).

    I am comfortable in doing some programing and have done some small prototyping projecs but am new to embedded systems and have no electronics background so any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks, Vivek

    • What you want to do seems to be not too difficult. If I understand right, you just want to use a uni-directional from the NFC reader to the raspberry pi. It will be a packet oriented communication, so I would use the packet handling modes of the CC1101. A good point to start would be 2 RFBee Arduino modules. The source code is freely available and also is the circuit diagram. Play around with that until you feel experienced enough to directly face the CC1101 chip with the microcontroller of your choice.

  2. Hello Wolfgang.
    I read maybe all of your articles here, and because i am interested in wiring and controlling this module on different frequencies 433/868, cc1101, i want to ask you if you have successfully wired it and tested with code for raspberry. I cannot find such information that is why i am asking. I want to use it for controlling different switches and monitoring temperature sensors which are sending 433mhz or 868 signals. Also for homematic products.
    Thanks

    • Surely, my blog post should show that I successfully interfaced the Raspberry Pi with my wireless radiator controllers. I successfully could interpret some of the messages they send over the air, like the current temperature. What I did not do is sending them commands, so I did not manage to control them. If you want it for “controlling switches” and “homematic products” you are maybe a little naive: The protocols these products are using are often not documented for public use, you would probably have to reverse-engineer them, and some protocols are even using encryption to secure the communication (like Homematic). But I can encourage you to play and hack around, just start slow and lower your expectations. A good starting point to play around with radio frequency communication are the Arduino compatible RFBee boards.

      • I was searching for some contact of you, to ask if you want to collaborate for one project – webcontrol.link that i am doing. I don’t understand so much of modules 🙂 just on learning stage, but want to develop such IoT solution. If you want – you can write me to my email.
        If not, at least can you tell how you have wired CC1101 to raspberry . You want to say that it is not easy and you didnt make the program for sending messages like 1234 with this module? Sure there is no documentation, that is why i need somebody that understand more of them, so we can create such 🙂

Leave a Reply

