New RF Hardware

CC1101The “new” RF hardware has arrived, ordered from China (Shenzen) online at http://www.aliexpress.com. After 14 days I got two pieces of this module, for about €15 (including shipping). You can see the TI CC1101 in the middle, the antenna and the oscillator. In contrast to the RFBee, this module does not have a uC or a serial interface. It just has the pure pins to control the CC1101: SI, SO (GDO1), SCLK1, CSn, GDO0 and GDO2 and of course the pins for power supply. The next step will be to get it working with the Raspberry Pi’s GPIO. Somehow need to get this fit onto a breadboard.

6 thoughts on “New RF Hardware

  1. How versitile is the CC1101 for recieving other 433MHz stuff? I have a few plug in power meters that are wireless back to a display, and the data rate seems a little fast for the generic 433Mhz modules I have tried on an arduino. Since I want it to go to the web anyway, if the CC1101 can receive other stuff it would let me skip the whole microcontroller in the way.

    • I actually don’t have experiences with generic 433MHz modules. I just can say: If you want to implement your own point-to-point or point-to-multipoint RF protocol, then you should definitely use a CC1101, as it has built-in packet processing functions.

  2. Hi, do you know the module’s pinout? I bought a couple but have no idea which pin is which. Thank you!

  3. Hi,

    wiring a CC1101 communication module to a RPi is easy, if have described it here: https://wolfgangklenk.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/rf1100se-transceiver-wired-to-breadboard/
    It is harder to do the soldering or find appropriate plugs.
    In this blog you also can read that I designed a custom PCB to plug onto the RPi’s GPIO header and that holds a Anaren CC1101 based evaluation module. I also started to make public some software on github: https://github.com/wklenk/CC1101SocketDriver

    Wolfgang

    • Great, thanks for telling me that , and I am very interesting and going to read your article carefully.
      But in some way I insisted on we should building a custom’s module before GPIO, I think you know the reason, not only because the GPIO reasource is limited but sometime we need more functions than a single RF module.
      I admited if we just use RPI for RF’s communication , plugging the GPIO header immediately is more comfortable.

Leave a Reply

